The Bermuda Youth Development Learning Community

The Youth Development Learning Community (YDLC) is a collection of youth-serving organisations invested in inspiring and cultivating youth and young adults to reach their full potential. The goal of the YDLC is to collaborate in order to

  • Provide peer to peer learning, support and capacity building
  • Improve access and standards of youth services.

What is a Learning Community

A learning community is a group of individuals who work within a shared domain and share a concern or a passion for something they do and desire to learn how to do it better by engaging in a process of ongoing, collective learning. Over time, members/collaborators develop a shared repertoire of resources: experiences, stories, tools, ways of addressing recurring problems—in short a shared practice.

YDLC Objectives

YDLC members have agreed to the following objectives:

  • Create and sustain better and deeper understanding of youth development organisations and how they support young people.
  • Discover opportunities to collaborate and identify joint projects, including referrals and cross promotion of services
  • Ability to share common themes coming up with youth and update on programmes offered; provide space for individual case problem solving; Sharing how to best partner with different schools/service partners
  • Provide space to identify gaps impacting youth, and collectively problem solve to find creative ways to fill gaps
  • Engage in discuss and learning to improve quality of service delivery (programme design, evaluation, outcomes, impact, training, policy/best practice sharing) for youth development and supporting each other in “upping our game”
  • Offer space to discuss other ways to support one another and sharing of relevant international resources

Who is the YDLC?

  • BIOS
  • Bermuda Zoological Society
  • Big Brothers Big Sisters
  • Duke of Edinburgh
  • Endeavor Community Sailing
  • Mirrors Programme
  • Pride Bermuda
  • Family Center
  • Raleigh Bermuda (Chair, Dany Pen)